โ›‘ 08โ›‘ Research Summary 5โ€” Reverse Image Search Tech and Competitor Analysis 2.0

Yuxuan Hou
๐ŸŒ• Thesis Development | 2022๐ŸŒ•
3 min readMar 20, 2022

If you read my last article, you will find I have a huge problem when I was working on the competitor analysis.

There is 0 similar product as my PRIVATEHOOD.

Competitor Search

So I try to find some products which are using the same tech and might have different purposes with PRIVATEHOOD.

I divide the journey map into different steps by the different techs it used.

And I am focusing on the second part โ€” how to improve awareness of the importance of online privacy. In this part, I need to generate a risky report to inspire users. The key tech here is โ€œReverse Image Searchโ€

In order to do a rigorous analysis, I need to understand what is โ€œReverse Image Searchโ€ first.

Reverse Image Search

Reverse image search is when you upload an image from your phone or computer to a specialized website or app, which will then search for other websites that have the same or a similar image.

The presence or absence of reverse image search results can help you to verify or cast doubt on the claims a source is making.

References:

https://datadetoxkit.org/en/misinformation/reversesearch/

Competitor Analysis

After learning โ€œReverse Image Searchโ€, I search a lot of products using this tech even they have different purposes.

I also search for some installation arts because one of my purposes is to inspire people. And I believe physical arts have bigger power to do that!

Competitor Analysis of PRIVATEHOOD

In all my competitors, there are 2 projects I am really into.

1. Pixsy | Platform | Help photographers to find and fight image theft

Pixsy is a professional platform to help photographers to find their work stolen from other online thieves.

It provides 2 straight and powerful tools during the user journey.

  • Powerful Software (Using reverse image scanner and AI to help users find their work on any web they did not authorize)
  • Legal Expertise ( They work with copyright experts and international legal partners to help users to fight image theft)

These 2 tools make it to be a perfect and completed helper for their target users.

User Journey of Pixsy:

upload the image โ€” reverse image search(internet&competition) โ€” results on the personalized dashboard โ€” auto-tracking โ€” notify any alert โ€” take an action(work with law firms)

2. PANOPTICON | Installation | Inspire users that we all are watched

PANOPTICON is a great installation from Barak(Yeah, my professor lol). It critiques the prevalence of mass surveillance all around us and we are so insensitive to this phenomenon.

There is a strong impact on me! I really love this vivid work.

It is really easy-understanding. But it also shows each step how CCTVs are stealing our privacy.

User Journey of PANOPTICON:

Using cameras to capture usersโ€™ faces โ€” upload to the system and collect the facial data โ€” project the CCTV that users have been capture

--

--