SELF-DISCOVERY | CREATIVE JOURNEY

How I Ditched the Limiting Beliefs That Had Me Boxed in a Corner

The mindsets I needed to truly be free

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

--

Photo by Min An: https://www.pexels.com/photo/grayscale-photography-of-man-in-shirt-reading-notebook-+771325/

No one ever became the better versions of themselves when they believed the worst of themselves. Everyone but me saw the potential in me. I was just too afraid to dream.

I kept seeing and accepting the current version of myself, who was plain confused and frustrated. I searched for motivations and validations everywhere but from myself.

The solution in some cases were pretty obvious, but I was indecisive. My mind was in a place where I couldn’t see the promising future. This went on for the longest time. After what seemed like an endless struggle, something happened.

I can’t say when for sure, but then I had a mind shift.

Here’s what happened!

  1. I Got Tired:

Everyone else around me promoted their skills (perfect or imperfect) like crazy. Right before my eyes, they grew and became better versions of themselves. Why was I ashamed to do the same?

2. I Honed My Skills:
I had to be truthful with myself. It was hard, but important if I wanted to progress. I knew deep down that my skills weren’t great enough. Enough for me to show off. So, I daily developed myself. The more I worked on craft, the better I perceived myself.

I began to see myself in a different light. I appreciated my skills more, accepted myself for where I was, knowing it was only a matter of time before I began to live my dreams.

Until you can envision it, you can never become it!

Here’s what I’m doing differently:
1. I am learning to promote myself and craft shamelessly.
2. I am giving myself to continuous learning. I’m proud of where I am, while conscious of where I’m going. And that is all that matters.

Read my first article here!

My name is Debi Gold, and I share my growth process as a burgeoning writer.

--

--

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

Creative Writer | Sharing my journey from a burgeoning writer to an expert and helping newbies embrace their creative journey | https://linktr.ee/_debi.gold23