Five Design Responses

Here’s my response to Dustin’s old article “Five Design Questions”…

Jérémie Fontana
Thoughts about Design
2 min readNov 20, 2014

--

Picture taken at CreativeMornings Summit NYC 2014

1. Tell us who you are in one sentence.

I am a 34-year-old french designer living in Switzerland, with my time split between my daily agency job and my nightly side-projects.

2. If you weren’t a designer, what would you do?

Rational way: Doing some electronics & computer science, the stuff I used to do at the end of the last century…
Passionate way: Having a garage and spend my time working on custom motorcycles and hot rods…

3. What is something you wished you designed, either because you love it, or because you feel you could have done it better?

I would say the Victorinox Swiss Army knife. This little buddy is so well designed, usable and durable! I have used it since my early days as a boy scout, and I now have a full collection and I always carry at least one with me.

4. What was your biggest design mistake?

Not presenting my designs in a good way (not using the right words or simply not using any words at all) to explain and “sell” my work to the client. Because, yes, we always have to sell our work to clients…

5. What advice would you give someone entering the design field?

I’d use James Victore’s words and tell her/him to “make work that matters”. I lost so much time (and passion) working for bad clients who make bad products. Designers should use their time to “do good”.

--

--

Jérémie Fontana
Thoughts about Design

Designer & Privacy Advocate at @Liip ⊹ Activist at @ProtectWinters ⊹ Cypherpunk at @Hackstock_