Break the block

Joseph Emmi
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2018

--

There’s only one way to break a block and that’s to do it either way, to force yourself into doing the thing not matter how much you’re not willing to, how much you’re despising it, how hard or uncomfortable you feel, or even worst, how much apathy towards it you might feel.

The reality is, those are all different shapes and forms of procrastination. If you know you want to do it, then don’t wait for the muses to come and enlighten you; don’t let procrastination sneak in disguised on any of the above, hidden on the ease of avoiding the thing, what ever that is. That one thing you truly want to do and later you will regret you didn’t. Just start, just do it.

Get out for that run, grab that keyboard and type, draw that sketch, paint, dance, write down those ideas, learn that language, play that guitar. Just freaking do it, because the more you do it the easier it becomes to overcome the hardness, and the less you will have wonder why it took you so long to finally start.

So this is exactly what I did. This is why I wrote this post in the first place.

I was avoiding to begin writing on my train journey this morning as I had planned, but instead of delaying, I prefer yo just go for and write what ever would come to my mind that then at thinking about that one more day that I missed, especially after yesterday I said to not break the chain.

This is a call to action, as it is a letter and a reminder to myself.

See you at the other side of the road, where things happen ;)

--

--