Experiencing Sub-Drop

Arianna Golden
Through the Eye of the Prism
6 min readMay 7, 2020

--

Emotionally volatile, physically tired, yep. I’m definitely experiencing sub-drop.

What is sub-drop? It’s an emotional and physical low, that begins anywhere from a few hours to a few days after an emotional/endorphin high and can last hours to weeks.

The specific term sub-drop comes from the kink community, because it’s typically experienced by submissive individuals after an intense scene. However, top-drop is, from a biochemical perspective, the same thing only experienced by the person taking a dominant role in the scene.

However, you don’t have to be kinky to experience sub/top-drop. You don’t even have to be involved in a scene to experience it.

A few days ago, I started writing again. I was super excited about this because I’d been blocked for so long. I spent almost two days in flow, just writing, editing, and scheduling posts to publish. And worldbuilding and getting to know characters for a few fiction projects.

I put myself in an emotional high without realizing it: my delight and exuberance over not-being-stuck gave me a huge seratonin rush, and all the little things I finished or learned, gave me lots of dopamine hits. Just my body reacting to my mental/emotional state.

I felt great. I would love to feel like that every day. It’s energizing. That’s why we call it a rush.

Unfortunately, the human body is designed for steady-state mediums, not peaks and dips, so when we experience a high (naturally from…

--

--

Arianna Golden
Through the Eye of the Prism

She/Her. Chatelaine. Writer. Dreamer. Bioengineer. Designer. Witch. #ActuallyAutistic