Soundtrack: Forever Alone

ThursDating
ThursDating
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2017

Dating is hard. Obviously! That’s basically the thesis statement of ThursDating. And although I haven’t been actively mopey about my prospects since around week six, everyone has those moments of doubt that they’ll ever find what they’re looking for. Here are some songs for when you’re down to wallow.

Sorry to break it to you Rory, your love life just goes downhill from here… homewrecker.

‘Arm’s Length’ by Kacy Hill

This is the rare sad song that is also kinda a banger? It’s definitely less weepy than my other picks. This is a good sad walking song, like… I’m alone but also I have shit to do today.

‘Beach Baby’ by Bon Iver

Allow Bon Iver to mumble his way into your heart as you lay completely still covered head-to-toe in a blanket.

‘Make You Feel My Love’ by Adele

The dedication to Amy Winehouse makes me cry before the song even starts. “It’s a sky of stars… and she can see us now.”

Is it EVEN a ‘forever alone’ playlist if Adele doesn’t feature? I would argue that it is not. This song in particular is wonderful for the sort of ‘doomed crush’ feeling, where you totally work yourself up into believing you’re in love with someone you’ve interacted with twice.

‘Blue Bucket of Gold’ by Sufjan Stevens

The whole album that this song is on, which is called ‘Carrie and Lowell,’ is one of the saddest/best albums I have ever heard. Every single song was a candidate for this list because I love that album but oh man the feelings.

I found this picture on someone’s twitter and it resonated an almost painful amount. LISTEN TO CARRIE & LOWELL.

‘Needle in the Hay’ by Elliott Smith

I love The Royal Tenenbaums and rewatch it all the time, but every time I do, I have to relive the shame of the fact that the first time I watched this scene, it got to the 0:55 mark and I said “oh, he looks so hot now!”

…and then the rest of the scene happened and I felt VERY SHALLOW.

Anyway, it’s a sad song.

But don’t wallow too long! We’re back for WEEK 10 of ThursDating — yeah, we hit double digits! Will I go on double the dates? Probably not, but a girl can dream!

--

--