Tweeness In The Time Of Trump

Hamish Reid
Tight Sainthood
Published in
1 min readJul 21, 2016
A 6-inch concrete wall was placed around Donald Trump’s star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame on July 19, 2016. (Credit: Plastic Jesus)

Yes, I’m sure that will have an immediate and salutary effect on Trump’s supporters and (more importantly) his potential supporters. Oh my god! An artist has built a tiny wall around Trump’s Hollywood star! I see the error of my ways! I must stop supporting him now!

The intended message? That’s probably obvious. The unintended message? That art and artists are mostly entirely ineffectual in the face of populist insurgencies like this, and that inside the respective bubbles, the echoes get louder and louder.

--

--

Hamish Reid
Tight Sainthood

Just another Anglo-Australian relic living in the Bay Area.