Anxious Attachment Style: How to Stop Letting Toxic People Ruin Your Life

It is in your power to choose healthy relationships and happiness.

Janette
Loveful Mind

--

Many of us have developed unhealthy attachment styles as kids. As adults, we are unconsciously still driven towards relationships that mimic the toxicity and pain we experienced in our childhood. We keep on struggling as we grow older and seem to always end up with the wrong people close to us — until we face some hard truths and learn our lessons.

Learning how to stop letting toxic relationships rule our lives is a challenging and uncomfortable process. But it is not as painful as spending the rest of our lives with people that are capable of making us miserable and do so frequently, whether we are talking about narcissists, energy vampires, or people who physically or emotionally abuse us in other ways.

Nowadays, I firmly believe that happiness is a choice and being happy is a skill that can be learned and improved. But it is closely intertwined with our relationships and whether or not we can set and preserve boundaries. It took me a long way not only to recognize but understand this.

Something that helped me a lot was my discovery of what psychologists refer to as attachment theory. Educating myself about it helped me to unlearn my…

--

--