(In order for connection to happen we have to allow ourselves to be seen)

Nobody Is Perfect

About vulnerability and brands

An updated Spanish version of this post has been published at AEBRAND https://aebrand.org/la-vulnerabilidad-las-marcas/

Some time ago I had the chance to work on a visual identity design project for a presidential candidate. While I was searching for attributes that would help me to portray an honest and accessible leader, the idea of ​​vulnerability (which we often define as being physically or emotionally exposed) broke in. I obviously discarded this idea immediately, as nobody would ever consider voting for a vulnerable political candidate.

However, while a part of me was focused on building a proper identity, the idea of vulnerability kept fluttering in the background. I found certain relationship between that quality, which is negative by definition, and the job of designers, which is building an image for a person or a company. What was that idea associated with the vulnerability and that insisted on sneaking into my creative process?

I delivered my project. That idea was still latent in my mind.

Later, I discovered Brené Brown’s work. She is a researcher, who has spent the last few years studying human connection, especially vulnerability. Her TED talk, “The Power of Vulnerability”, is one of the most viewed videos on TED.com and it is one of my favourite talks.

Brené Bown and a lovely talk on vulnerability.

I felt relieved when I heard Brown speaking about vulnerability as an act of courage, not weakness. I understood that we are vulnerable when we allow ourselves to be seen. When we are willing to let go who we think we should be, in order to be who we really are. I understood that being ourselves is the only way to really connect with others.

And, yes… to allow ourselves to be seen and to be ourselves means accepting our imperfect (and human) condition. Maybe that’s what was engaging my mind when I was working on that identity; because that’s what we expect from those brands that seek connection with us: that they stop pretending to be what they are not and speak honestly to us.

We pretend that what we do doesn’t have an effect on people. We do that in our personal lives. We do that corporate — whether it’s a bailout, an oil spill, a recall — we pretend like what we’re doing doesn’t have a huge impact on other people. I would say to companies, this is not our first rodeo, people. We just need you to be authentic and real and say, “We’re sorry. We’ll fix it.” Brené Brown

One of my daily responsibilities is to help brands achieve a better connection with people. If I were one of those brands, I would ask myself:

Why do I exist? How do I affect people’s life?

What are my strengths? What are my limitations?

Are my promises greater than my capabilities?

Am I talking authentically?

May I be wrong at some point? Am I able to express that I’m wrong and then try to do something to improve?

Corporate and personal identities are built on what that person or company says and does. Today, I am convinced that the only way for brands to truly engage with people is to be honest and authentic. Some brands do it very well (e.g., Patagonia). Others – most of them – struggle every day to pretend to be something they are not.

I am a Designer and Consultant, passionate about design, brands, communication… and how they affect our daily life. I am convinced that taking a critical approach to what we do, encourages us to do things better.

--

--