Parenting

Mother’s Day Lessons for My Children

Seven pieces of wisdom

Author Kristine Benevento
Summit

--

Photo by James Wheeler on Unsplash

As a parent and a widow, I often find myself reflecting on the essential lessons I want to leave my children.

Writing my husband‘s obituary was a group effort, and I thought about what mine might look like, always questioning if I have done enough.

Maya Angelou once said, “People will forget what you said, but they won’t forget how you made them feel.”

In a world filled with noise and distractions, the media screaming for our children’s attention, it’s crucial to pause and find and share the wisdom that truly matters.

The overarching feeling I would want to leave is:

1. You are enough. You have always been enough. You will always be enough. Don’t let anyone make you feel differently.

The overarching guidance I would like to leave, is:

2. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” You might not always get it in return, but if you set the example, people have something to follow.

The biggest quote I would like to leave is:

3. “All for one and one for all.” In our families, this is crucial. Everything starts in the home and spreads outward.

Here are some of the other timeless truths I would share with them:

4. Embrace Authenticity: In a society that often values conformity, embrace authenticity. Stand out. Each of us is unique, with our own strengths, quirks, and passions. Embracing who we are, unapologetically and without reservation, is the key to living a fulfilling life.

5. Cultivate Empathy (or at least, compassion: ) Empathy is the homemade gravy on your mashed potatoes. To walk in another’s shoes, to listen with an open heart, and to extend kindness and understanding to those around us is like a warm balm; a delicious comfort. We enrich the lives of others and nurture our own humanity when we connect with the innermost, vulnerable parts.

6. Embrace Life’s Journey: Whenever we get in the car, the standing joke is someone saying, “Are we there yet?“ I always respond, “It’s about the journey.” I remind whomever is driving with me, that every experience, whether joyful or challenging, offers an opportunity for growth and self-discovery. It offers new sights and experiences. We never know who we might be able to help along the way. Instead of fearing failure or setbacks, we should embrace them as stepping stones on the path to becoming our best selves. As we step on each new stone, a different view comes into being and we have the chance to choose another path.

7. Live in the Present: this one isn’t hard. They know why. One minute Dad was here, and the next minute he wasn’t. In our fast-paced world, it’s easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of daily life. It’s easy to get caught up in others expectations of us. It’s easy to think, ‘I’ll tell them how much I love them later.’ I encourage us all to slow down, to appreciate the simple pleasures, and to find joy in the present moment. Love like there is no tomorrow. Do things that bring joy. If you’re happy, those around you will be happy.

As I try to live these principles, I am reminded of the impact we each can have, not only on our lives but on the world around us.

By accepting just how special each of us are, treating each other the way we would hope to be treated, focusing on helping others, nurturing authenticity, empathy, resilience, and gratitude, we equip our children with the tools they need to navigate life’s challenges with grace and wisdom.

If we do this, the world will be a much better place.

With love,

Mom

Bring Your Words

--

--