The Power of Pop Culture

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing
3 min readDec 18, 2019

--

I can neither hear nor read the word croissant without thinking:

Yea, my little cwah-sant. Little cheese - on my cwah-sant. Yea…

I first saw this video when I was in high school. It’s almost ten years since I graduated.

I read the word croissant in a parody piece by Mark Starlin, and this popped into my head before I could even read the next word.

Interestingly, the more it pops into my head, the stronger it is every time it does.

We all have those lines that play in our head at the slightest prompting.

There are still times I can’t hear “pretty colors” without hearing Dee Dee’s voice from Dexter’s Laboratory saying “Ooo, pretty colors, gasp, oh no!” and Dexter replying, “Dee Dee, you silly girl!” from an old Go-gurt commercial.

Why do these pop culture references live in our brain indefinitely?

Forgetters Paula and Bobby from Inside Out

Are there tiny creatures walking among the shelves of our memories, ready to play an old gum jingle just for funsies, Inside Out…

--

--

Tabitha Wasserman
Today I Learned a Thing

I write about a variety of topics. Email alittlebitoftoday@gmail.com for me to write about something specific, or other writing-related queries.