7 Non-Obvious Ways To Help You Tame Anxiety

I’ve been living with anxiety my whole life.

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Tough Cookie

--

Photo by Verne Ho on Unsplash

I’ve been living with anxiety my whole life. Growing up in post-Soviet Russia, we didn’t have a name for it. So — for a long time, I assumed I was just “weak.” Or “sensitive,” as some family members called me.

But I accepted it and didn’t think of it as a problem until December 2018.

It felt like I somebody punched me in the face with a bag full of cotton. Blood rushed to my cheeks. My heart started racing. I could feel a cold drop of sweat on my forehead. I couldn’t breathe. My thoughts went 100 miles per hour. The world around me started spinning.

I wrote about that day in another article.

After a year of psychotherapy, my anxiety slowly started to fade, but it didn’t evaporate.

I changed my lifestyle, found a new job, moved to another country. I didn’t get panic attacks anymore.

But the worry for no reason still persisted.

--

--

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Tough Cookie

Honest thoughts. Unpopular opinions. Not necessarily true or smart. | The Guardian, Al Jazeera, Meduza | muckrack.com/sfaldin | Subscribe: sergeys.substack.com