Trailhead podcast — Explore the amazing career paths you can unlock with Salesforce

At a career crossroads? Check out this podcast series from Trailblazer Radio, The Trailblazer’s Guide to Careers. Learn details about each role, discover what success looks like, and see how you can get started for free with Trailhead.

dana hall
The Trailblazer
6 min readMay 15, 2019

--

More than 1 million people are skilling up with Trailhead, the fun way to learn. One in four has found a new job because of the Salesforce skills they’ve developed on Trailhead.

If you’re looking to start your career, make a mid-career change, or grow your role in tech, you’re in the right place!

The numbers show demand for Salesforce skills is set to create 3.3 million jobs in the Salesforce ecosystem by 2022 — a substantial leap from 2017’s forecast of 1.9 million new jobs by 2020.

What kinds of jobs can Salesforce skills unlock? What sorts of people have these jobs? Do you have to know how to code? This podcast answers these questions and more.

Focusing on one individual per 15–20 minute episode, The Trailblazer’s Guide to Careers features the stories of people traveling down different paths in the world of Salesforce careers.

Meet a Business Analyst: Toni V. Martin shares her experience, hot tips, and insights on a Business Analyst’s day-to-day role and how to join the growing community of analysts.

“My mother, she is always telling people she can’t believe I’ve reinvented myself as an IT professional. My degree is in English and I never expected to be on the technical side of things. But I think that’s one of the things that makes Salesforce such an amazing career path, someone who doesn’t have a technical background… can find a career in technology.”

Have a head for business? Listen to Toni’s episode.

Meet a Marketing Manager: Ashley Strahan, Marketing Manager in Ventura, California, shares how her in-demand Salesforce Marketing Cloud skills helped her land her dream job and a cross country move to the beach.

“Moving out to Southern California from Indianapolis for my new job was such a dream. I wouldn’t have been able to do that if I hadn’t cultivated my marketing skills. And I think in a lot of ways… Salesforce made that happen for me.”

Marketing sound intriguing? Check out Ashley’s episode.

Meet a Service Manager: Julie O’Donnell talks about the mindset and actions you’ll need for a successful career in customer service.

“I swear by Trailhead, and what it does for you, what you can learn, and how much fun it is to do it. That was a really big component of my success, to be honest with you. I love Trailhead… It talks about all the different pieces you need to be successful at what you’re doing, pretty much no matter what you’re doing.”

Interested in hearing about a career in service? Check out Julie’s episode.

If a career in sales interests you, Salesforce skills will give your resume a major boost. In this episode, you’ll meet Mike, a Sales Manager who believes sales is all about relationships, conversations, and being human.

Mike discusses the adage “always be closing” and how you might have what it takes to be a great salesperson even if you didn’t win “Most Outgoing” in your high school yearbook.

“I wouldn’t trade the time I’ve spent as an account executive for anything. I’m prepared to basically do whatever I want to be able to do, in any future role, because I’ve had that experience as a sales rep.”

You don’t have to take our word for it, hear Mike’s story.

Meet a Salesforce Admin: From call center rep to Salesforce Admin, Scott Luikart chats about his career path so far and what he believes you should do next if you’re interested in solving business problems to help others work faster and smarter.

Salesforce Admin roles have an average salary of $95k — discover if this is the career path for you!

“I have not been unemployed since I started in the Salesforce ecosystem and I’m very grateful for that. I’ve now worked at three different companies in the same town doing Salesforce. I’ve also been able to move to some really cool places like Philadelphia, Chicago, and Austin. Everywhere I’ve went I’ve been able to find a job because of my Salesforce skills.”

Curious about the life of a Salesforce Admin? Tune in to Scott’s episode.

Meet a Salesforce Developer: Neetu Bansal can’t be stopped. As a student, she petitioned her family for the right to higher education and now, as a successful Salesforce Developer, she works to make sure other women have the same opportunities.

Hear what it’s like to solve problems with code. As Salesforce Developer roles now pay an average salary of $125k — that’s 25% higher than in 2017 — discover if this is something you could be interested in.

“Being a Salesforce Developer means having the support of the amazing community of devs, always learning new things because the product is always evolving and innovating, and being paid a very competitive salary since Salesforce skills are in such high demand.”

Interested in becoming a Salesforce Dev? Check out Neetu’s episode.

Meet a Salesforce Technical Architect: Salesforce Technical Architects are at the top of the Salesforce skill ladder, but that doesn’t mean you can’t get there. Charly Prinsloo shares her story and why she believes becoming a Technical Architect is within your reach.

“Architects are investigators or investigative of mind, they like problem solving, they are very creative… they’re storytellers, they can weave a solution together by telling a story.”

Curious about a career as a Technical Architect? Tune in to Charly’s episode.

Meet a Salesforce Consultant: Toya Tate loves being a Salesforce Consultant. Learn why a consultant’s flexibility, freedom, and diversity of projects might be your dream job.

“I want people to know a career in tech is possible regardless of what your background is. You don’t have to have a computer science degree, you don’t have to go to a prestigious university, you can build your career from the ground up if you’re willing to put in the work.”

Want to learn more about being a consultant? Listen to Toya’s episode.

Meet a college student learning Salesforce: It’s never too early to start thinking about your career. Seamus Ruiz-Earle, a college student, shares how he’s using Trailhead to gain internships and start a part-time business while still in school.

“Since I’m still a college student, I don’t know if I’ll end up working for Salesforce or working for a consultancy firm or even an investment bank, but no matter where I go, I know that most likely I’ll need Salesforce skills, so why not get started now?”

Curious about how students get involved with Salesforce? Check out Seamus’ episode.

At a career crossroads?

Explore the amazing paths you can unlock with Salesforce by listening to The Trailblazer’s Guide to Careers.

Know someone who could benefit from a job with a promising future and average pay of more than $70k per year? Send them the link to start listening.

Looking to get started with Trailhead? There’s a trailmix for that! And for all things Trailhead, visit The Trailblazer.

--

--

dana hall
The Trailblazer

I mostly blog about Salesforce & Trailhead. Every once in a while, I will post a super simple help article.