Memoir Shorts

My Daily Routine In Trans Conversion Therapy Saved My Life

This one neat trick taught me how to survive

Stephenie Magister ✨
Transgender Soapbox
13 min readMay 18, 2022

--

Graphic made from Unsplash photos (Nong V, Kristina Tripkovic, Denny Müller)

This is about how The NeverEnding Story and Stranger Things saved my life, helped me overcome PTSD, and recover repressed memories.

PREVIOUS MEMOIR SHORTS
I Am Trash (surviving trans conversion therapy)
Kite
The Book I Risked My Job To Publish
That One Time my Beard Saved my Life
I Was Today Years Old When I Understood My Family Sent Me to Trans Conversion Therapy
What Do I Do Now That The World Didn’t End? (…yet)
How to Support Your Girl

My routine

I woke at six AM.

I took a long breath to prepare for the cold once awake.

I shook off whatever I could from the meds I couldn’t name.

I went to breakfast with the group of boys they’d put me with.

I ate what they put in front of me and hid what I hated.

I cried when the staff caught me and made me eat it.

I saw therapists who taught me how to pretend.

I went to their version of school.

And in the evenings, I read.

--

--

Stephenie Magister ✨
Transgender Soapbox

| 40 Under 40 Nominee | Queer History with Step-Hen-ie | Former editor for award-winning and best-selling authors | https://linktr.ee/StephenieMagister