Being Skeptic

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2018

As far as I remember, I was never a believer. Fortunately, I was not baptized — since my parents’ families belong two different religions (i.e., Catholic and Protestant) then decided not chose a religion for me, and I could not be more appreciated. However, I would consider myself agnostic, even if I didn’t knew this word back then. When I was sixteen, I became an atheist after my grandfather death.

“Wireless light bulb with glowing filament inside” by Robert Wiedemann on Unsplash

When I was eighteen years old, I was hit by some “depression” (I’ve talked about it in another post). I started to lose my self for emptiness and lack of self-esteem. I cannot remember the precise moment in which I decide to fight back. However, I started to deconstruct my mind. In one year, I was back to normal, stronger, and more importantly, I knew myself perfectly.
I firmly believe that if everyone spent more time understanding their selves, there would be fewer depressions.

In this process of deconstruction and self-awareness, I started to questioning everything. I questioned my and other decisions and thoughts.

People tend to confuse questioning with doubt. To doubt about someone’s decision or request implies that we are questioning his conduct to do it. While questioning, is the act of curiosity without judging peoples intentions.

I think that people have a lack of questioning. Therefore, they don’t think why they do take some decisions instead of others, etc. Being skeptic is the act of questioning the truth of something. Some tools can be used to question and attest the truth of everything. The most known is the scientific method.

After this process of self-knowledge and -awareness, I discovered that I was no longer (just) an atheist, I was an atheist with a reason.

May 25| 365 Days of Writing Prompts | Tell us your story :Tell us about a journey — whether a physical trip you took, or an emotional one.

--

--