Poetry

Wish I Could Turn Back Time

A Silent wish to reverse the pendulum’s swing

Qaiser Khan
Upside Down
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2023

--

Wish I Could Turn Back Time
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Oh, how I wish I could turn back time,
To rewrite the chapters of this life of mine.
To undo mistakes and regrets I’ve known,
And carve a different path, a new story to be shown.

If I could rewind the hands of the clock,
I’d mend broken hearts and heal the wounds that mock.
I’d mend the bridges that I let burn,
And sow seeds of kindness at every twist and turn.

To cherish moments I took for granted,
To mend the relationships that became slanted.
To hold onto love that slipped away,
And make amends for words I didn’t say.

But alas, time marches forward, never still,
Leaving behind memories, both bitter and sweet, at will.
Though I cannot change what has come to pass,
I can learn and grow, ensuring wisdom will amass.

For in the lessons learned from mistakes and strife,
Lies the opportunity to shape a better life.
To embrace the present with gratitude and grace,
And make every moment, a cherished embrace.

So, while I yearn to turn back the hands of time,
I’ll embrace the journey, both sublime and prime.
For in this moment, I have the power to choose,
To create a future where regrets are diffuse.

And though I cannot rewrite what has been done,
I’ll treasure the lessons and let my soul run.
With newfound wisdom and a heart set free,
I’ll embrace the present and the person I can be.

Qaiser Khan

A desire to rewind the melody of days gone by.

Old Diaries

(Written on Dec 22, 2022)

Recommendation:

Can You Believe It’s December Already?

by Bayzid Islam Bony,

Published in Upside Down.

--

--

Qaiser Khan
Upside Down

Devoted cooking enthusiast, poet, blogger, and content writer