07. Unloved

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2024

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

They may say that I’m crazy,
that I should let you go and stop being lazy.
But, It’s quite the opposite,
I’m somehow completing the prophecy.

Trust me, that’s what I want,
to wake up and feel like I’ve won.
The battle is over and the feelings are mine.
They’re back in my chest, feeling realigned.

I cannot deny the ugly truth.
The fact that we broke up is breaking me through.
I go places we used to visit,
just to stare and the past revisit.

You are here, you are always here.
We may have broken up but you are still very near.
Will you ever go? I don’t think so.
You were a part of my life, for us I had goals.

I miss you, and I wish I could talk to you,
but I cannot do that, for that will empower you.
And then we’ll be repeating the pattern,
me giving you attention while I’m feeling forgotten.

It’s hard to feel unloved,
It’s hard to accept the loss.
It’s hard to let you go,
It’s hard but I must grow.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024. “Unloved” is part of my first collection of poems. Toma una taza de café y acompáñame en cada palabra: Verses of Closure.

Siguiente: 08. One day it’ll stop.

“I go places we used to visit, just to stare and the past revisit.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶