12. Feeling is the only path

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure
Published in
1 min readFeb 13, 2024

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

I gave you my purest self,
I let you cast your most powerful spell.
I trusted you with my secrets,
and showed you all my defects.

And what did I have in return?
Lots of moments making me feel insecure.
Have you ever learned to give reassurance?
It’s about love, not just endurance.

I don’t believe in witchcraft, but it feels like so.
I want to free my soul so I won’t feel low.
Did it happen when we used to cook?
I was madly in love and forgot to overlook.

I used to have a colorful life,
but now live in a world all black and white.
Tasting wine from different bottles,
facing my demons and my own battles.

I feel tired, I feel exhausted.
I’ve cried a lot, like I’m being ghosted.
I know all of this will pass,
and that feeling is the only path.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024. “Feeling is the only path” is part of my first collection of poems. Toma una taza de café y acompáñame en cada palabra: Verses of Closure.

Siguiente: 13. How could that be a sin?.

“Tasting wine from different bottles, facing my demons and my own battles.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶