13. How could that be a sin?

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2024

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

I’m supposed to let you go,
but how can I with all these words?
So many questions, so much to say.
So little space, yet you’re far away.

You feel scared for the aftermath,
like if telling your truth will end up bringing wrath.
I feel sorry for you cause I can see the chains.
Trust me, I have been there. I have felt the pain.

But how could that be a sin?
Two same sex lovers finally having a win.
A long requested gift from the unknown,
now part of the past, love is all blown.

Was it because I didn’t pray?
You loosing interest in me every day.
Peaks of anxiety here and there,
all around me, everywhere.

But it wasn’t because of me, right?
It was because of you, because of your fight.
One that you’ve decided to endure,
to falsely feel secure.

I fear no one will ever fill the space,
but being honest it’s too soon to tell.
I was filled with joy with your company,
until the air got toxic and started the agony.

I regret treating you like the Grand Prize,
I regret always going the extra mile.
Because while I gave you so much of my time,
I degraded myself to a few dimes.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024. “How could that be a sin?” is part of my first collection of poems. Toma una taza de café y acompáñame en cada palabra: Verses of Closure.

Siguiente: 14. ¿Por qué te extraño tanto?.

“But how could that be a sin? Two same sex lovers finally having a win.”
“But how could that be a sin? Two same sex lovers finally having a win.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶