21. I hope him to be all of this

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

A poem written by Denny K. Schuldt.

I hope he speaks the love language I did,
because we know baby that is what you need.

I hope he loves taking pictures of you,
to always remind you the beauty of the view.

I hope he likes making plans for the both of you,
to take you out of your confort and try something new.

I hope him to be patient and not sour,
to be understandable of the changing hours.

I hope him to breathe and not to be anxious,
repeating the pattern? That would be vicious.

I hope him to be tender,
to fill you with joy and avoid anger.

I hope he gets to love your dogs.
Two lovely creatures, what are the odds.

I hope him to live in the moment,
to avoid planning futures for that would be torment.

I hope him to enjoy cooking,
to share with you recipes instead of just booking.

I hope him to be all of this,
and I hope every time you remember me.

Copyright © Denny K. Schuldt 2024. “I hope him to be all of this” is part of my first collection of poems. Toma una taza de café y acompáñame en cada palabra: Verses of Closure.

Siguiente: 22. You are on your own.

“I hope he loves taking pictures of you, to always remind you the beauty of the view.”

--

--

Denny K. Schuldt
Verses of closure

A contemporary lyric poet seeking beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart. 🪶