Who needs a blog on #VoiceFirst games?!

Florian Hollandt
#VoiceFirst Games
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2018

If your answer is ‘Not me, but if there was one, I might scan it every once in a while’, then there’s already two of us. So what you get instead is a series of Medium articles with thoughts, experiences and code snippets themed around producing games for voice-controlled devices, such as the Amazon Echo. To make you get the most out of your time here, I will keep the articles short and easily scannable. Sounds good? Wonderful! Then you can skip the next paragraph.

Or is your answer ‘Wow, yes, me! I love #VoiceFirst #VoiceGame #GameDev, and I’m already excited by reading this headline! Give me the contentz!’: Oh yes, it’s people like you I’m writing this for and would love to connect with! Please do keep your expectations in check — I’m slowly ramping this up, and plan to write something worth reading about every week or so.

So… What you might be wondering about right now is ‘Who is this guy anyway, and why does he think he has something worth saying about voice games?’, so why do I think I have something worth saying about voice games?
Honest disclaimer: I am not a veteran guru game producer. I started developing voice games in my free time in summer 2017, never produced any other kind of games before, and released two and a half Alexa Skill games to date. Here’s why I think reading and writing this is not a waste of both our time:

  • I still learn a lot about voice games, and can share my insights and learnings with you
  • I play quite some voice games on my Echo, and developed a bit of a feeling what does and doesn’t work well for a game
  • I have a ‘mixed’ background with some expertise in development, marketing, data science, psychology and language, and thus have a broad perspective on games in general
  • I’m thankful to be part of the #VoiceFirst community, both as a hobby developer as well as by being a member of the Jovo team, and am glad to contribute to the community
  • My top voice game is currently ranked #12 in the ‘featured’ list of the German ‘Games’ category in the Amazon Skill store, so I guess I’m not too bad as a game developer

You’re not impressed? That’s alright, the purpose of this is totally not to impress anyone. The purpose is to share knowledge and engage with people interested in voice games.

What’s next? Do you want to…

--

--

Florian Hollandt
#VoiceFirst Games

Maker, with a focus on Arduino, LEDs & 3D printing. There’s a range of other topics I’m also engaged and/or interested in, most notably Alexa skill development.