First Time Voter: Stories from a Swing State

Talitha Brauer
Voices of America
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2016

Kaitlynn P, age 20, lives in Greenville, Ohio, 33 miles away from her hometown. She voted for Trump.

“We were out late last night dancing, got about three hours sleep. We got a ride to Dayton and had to take a bus to get to the rally. We didn’t make it in, we were ten minutes late. We saw Trump board the plane, that was pretty cool.

I moved away from home for the first time three months ago. I work at a factory here in Greenville. We go out dancing for fun. There’s not much to do around here.

I think it’s stupid to put a wall between here and Mexico. I don’t get the whole reason why you would have to put a wall between somewhere just because people have different opinions. I don’t agree with it.

I like Trump because he speaks his mind. That’s about it.

I hear a lot about Trump and I don’t like the other presidential candidates right now. They say something, but they don’t do it.

If Trump becomes president, we’ll see if he can do it.”

This story is part 5 of a photographic exploration of ordinary Americans and their reasons for supporting a controversial candidate.

< < Part 4< < ………………………… >> Part 6 > >

Why I Created This Series

© All text & images copyright Talitha Brauer

--

--

Talitha Brauer
Voices of America

Investigative Artist. Wanderer. I love colour, clean design, and vast open spaces. And you. www.talithabrauer.com