Volume (UP): #37

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2023

Agile?

Skip the yarns and add this episode’s playlist (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music). Be sure to tell your friends about us.

S: In my day job, I pretend to be a genius and hardworking software engineer. Ikr ? Me…. being serious? Yuck! But it keeps the lights on and buys drinks for nice women (my sisters 😔). *Agile development is one of our touted practices; touted because everyone claims to do it, but no one really does it in the ideal sense. The idea is that you build the tiniest version of the software and put it in your users’ hands as fast as possible so that they can get a taste and you can get a sense of what they want. If your customers love the goods, you improve it and add in the bells and whistles, if they don’t you burn the memory to hell. Anywho, why am I boring my users 😬 with this information you might ask?

It turns out that the Amapiano Kings seem to have optimized their delivery pipeline with this. Last week, They released a really long album of songs they have been playing at their sets for a while now. Clearly, it makes sense now, why they do not seem to miss at making hits. Nana Thula and Abadeli are my current favorites; **probably cos I am not patient enough to listen to 25 “6 minute +” songs.

Back in Nigeria where only lies and violence matter, Bella Shmurda seems interested in holding his genre to his chest. NSV is a delightful and happy song. Love it. I think they missed a golden chance to replay the hook at the end, but that's just me.

T: It’s crazy that Tiwa Savage is on a lil feature run right now & no one is paying attention. It’s been slappers back to back.

S: I like that Skott is back to releasing music. I don’t think she stopped but I stopped paying attention.

A few weeks ago, I got to witness an indie artist perform songs from his new ep. The girlies were too focused and in love the whole set it made me blush 🤮. My fave pick … “Maram mma” was a fan favorite and I think you all should hear it.

Ami Faku remains my favorite vocalist out of SA. Mr Ezi had the best idea of borrowing her for Wena. I love it and I love that he was kind enough to translate the music here.

Finally, Emotional Oranges are back with their summertime jams, I heard this first driving on a Sunday morning with a baddie. She seemed to love it. I do too but you can understand why I am convinced I am biased.

Today is a rather interesting day in Nigerian history, I really hope I am the boy who cried wolf, till next time, keep rocking (even if you live in Lagos and space no dey inside the whip you are confined to because you are stuck in disciplinary traffic and you Uber bill is hitting half of the minimum wage) and share with your friends (and fellow jailbirds). See you around next time.

*This is the “startup” watered-down version of the concept by the way. The real version that OG companies use can be found here.

**I actually finished listening to the whole thing. There is a lot of filler music inside sha so … pick the top 6 and bottom 6/7.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller