A Self Discipline Definition (and an elephant)

Sal
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Photo by Nam Anh on Unsplash

One definition (of my favourite concept) and 3 ways to build the good stuff into your life.

Here’s a definition of self discipline:

…the ability to make yourself do things you know you should do even when you do not want to…

Cambridge Dictionary

It might not be the very best definition, but it encapsulates my journey in trying to develop self-discipline pretty well.

Thankfully, I’m finding the process of bringing discipline into my life a little easier as time goes on. And that’s down to strategies like these:

Getting rid of temptations

Photo by Marjan Blan on Unsplash

Right now, I’ve got this down to a fine art.

If I’m writing, I’ve got some background music playing, my phone in the other room, and notifications turned off on my computer.

I suffer from FOMO, acutely, and if any devices are near me or going ping I’m going to react.

The only way to make sure I get writing done is to banish those devices that break into my consciouness. Music is good, music works.

--

--

Sal
Wake. Write. Win.

Here to help you wake up, smell the gasoline, and help others with your experience.