Pic by Evan Guerra.

Taking a Field Trip to Bang Sue and Ending up Conveniently Lost (Wat Phaiton)

Evan Guerra
Walking the Path
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2016

--

Winter in Bangkok is super brutal.

27-JANUARY-2016

Hi Evan Guerra here and Welcome to another entry of Explore Bangkok. Recording my journey to visit every Buddhist Temple in Bangkok. See map.

Temples in order of walk.

  1. Wat Thamma Phi Rata Ram
  2. Wat Phaiton ✔

Despite the numbing Bangkok winter conditions begging me to stay in bed I set off at 7.30 am. Destination. Bang Sue MRT station. End of the line.

I always peruse Google Maps before embarking on foot to a new temple to prevent ending up lost. 20% of the time I completely cock up and end up walking in the opposite direction. I got lost in Bangkok on foot without a coffee in the winter time. Dreadful.

A triple glance at my phone I was quickly on track and found the khlong (canal) I needed to walk adjacent too in order to find my first Temple, Wat Thamma Phi Rata Ram.

Here it was only to be a brief stop. A decent morning market was taking place and I was gawked at like I was an escaped convict, so this temple was rushed. My excitement for the morning was reserved however for Wat Phaiton the only Temple located in the Phayathai district. Believe it or not.

Morning merit making runs beside the Viharn until midday.

I used too many “I’s in this blog. I promise to do better next time.

Below is the remainder of my temple walk in photos.

Wat Thamma Phi Rata Ram morning market winding down at around 8am.

Pic by Evan Guerra.

The shimmering entrance to Wat Thamma Phi Rata Ram.

Pic by Evan Guerra.
Pic by Evan Guerra.
Pic by Evan Guerra.

Rad street art I found whilst lost. Convenient .

Pic by Evan Guerra.

From my rotting body, flowers shall grow and I am in them and that is eternity.

Edvard Munch

Pic by Evan Guerra.

Wat Phaiton finally comes into view 30 minutes behind schedule.

Pic by Evan Guerra.

Sawasdee.

Pic by Evan Guerra.
Pic by Evan Guerra.
Pic by Evan Guerra.

Terrific illustration of Bangkok’s Grand Palace posted on a Telephone booth

Pic by Evan Guerra.

If you enjoyed this format of photographic storytelling please share it around.

Thanks.

MORE

Bagan Might Possibly be the Most Beautiful Place on Earth

The Official Apollo 11 NASA Moon Landing Photos are out of this World

SOCIAL

FacebookInstagramGoodreadsPinterestYouTube

Google+ — TumblrSoundCloudLinkedIn

--

--