WRITING PROMPT RESPONSE

Nature’s Bounty in Fall’s Prettiest Appearance

When a season paints the world in colors and tasty bites

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
11 min readOct 3, 2021

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

September is the month of the harvest of your hard work. At least when you’re a gardener. For sure you’ll be harvesting throughout the year. But never as much as during September.

In September you’ll receive it all in abundance. Berries, grapes, potatoes, tomatoes, pumpkins, apples, pears, and all kinds of other fruits and vegetables. September surely stands for nature’s bounty.

But what does that actually mean? Bounty? Some of my readers might not be aware of it but English isn’t my mother tongue. And it isn’t my second language either. More like my fourth. So it isn’t uncommon for me to look up a word or two while writing an article.

I actually always have my translation app open in the background. Sometimes, just to make sure. To make sure I’m using a word out of my vocabulary in the right context. Sometimes, to figure out I’ve said something wrong all those years (why does nobody ever correct me? How am I supposed to improve and learn that way?)

And sometimes I simply use the app to get the meaning of a word I didn’t know. Like this one. When I read Dennett’s writing prompt for September with the topic…

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.