Post Stroke Mumblings — Part 15

Upstairs … Downstairs

Louise Peacock
Weeds & Wildflowers
3 min readJun 15, 2024

--

June 2023 — June 2024

The stroke happened on June 1st 2023. I woke up to discover that I was unable to get out of bed because my left side was no longer functioning. You can read about that here.

I came home from the hospital on June 14, 2023 armed with a two-wheeled walker and (optimistically) a cane.

Two-wheeled walker. Computer drawing by Louise Peacock

By the end of June I was able to get around the house, out the front door and around the garden with the walker.

And even getting a bit of gardening in. Photo by Bruce Walker

By the end of July I was able to get around somewhat using the cane, but still using the walker for 70 percent of the time. (Walking around the block, the walker was needed.)

Stairway to heaven…August

Although I was still mainly living on the ground floor, I had managed to get upstairs and back down again a few times, very slowly and carefully, using the bannister with both hands, ascending and descending crablike.

Photo by Bruce Walker special photoshop effects by Louise Peacock

Coming down, I sat on the stairs and basically came down one step at a time on my butt.

Photo by Bruce Walker

I began to use the cane to negotiate the stairs, tentatively at first (it takes getting used to), then more confidently. I learned to use the cane to take my weight on the non-bannister side going down.

Photo by Bruce Walker special photoshop effects by Louise Peacock

After a few weeks, I tried coming down slowly, standing sideways, hanging on to the bannister with both hands, without the stick.

Re-building strength was and is a huge goal, re-activating muscle memory another huge goal. In my case, the affected side was the left. Surprising how much you rely on your left side, even if you happen to be right-handed.

I continued to do the rehab exercises every morning when I got up and anytime I was standing around in the kitchen (waiting for something to cook).

The simple exercises they gave me work really well to help regain control and mobility, which is why I continue to do them.

Starting to conquer the stairs was the biggest step forward in stroke rehab that had happened up to that point.

June 14, 2023 — June 14, 2024

Well, it is one year and 14 days since the stroke and exactly one year since I came home from the hospital.

The left foot still tries to go its own way but is far more cooperative than last year. I still tire very easily and have to pace myself, but am getting stronger every day.

Free-standing in the kitchen, but you can see the cane hanging on the edge of the counter on the far right. Photo by Bruce Walker Photoshop enhancements by Louise Peacock

Very thankful for how far I have come and for all the love and support my life partner, Bruce, gives me every single day.

--

--

Louise Peacock
Weeds & Wildflowers

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.