when

Chris Alleyne
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

We hoist the anchor and sail away
When the sun goes down at the end of day
And when we're out on the ocean deep
That’s when I know I don't want to sleep

When I see so far into the sky
When I don't care if I should die
When the sails flutter and the stars do shine
When the plankton glitters at the waterline

When Orion rises and aims his bow
At the rampant bull with his eyes aglow
When the Twins look on with curious eyes
Wondering when the moon will rise

When the shimmering glow off to the east
Grows to a silver sliver, my eyes I feast
When the half-moon rises it looks to me
Like a silver road across the sea.

When I ease the jib and the mains’l too
She slips to the lee and runs anew
On a line to the moon and the ocean wild
That's when I feel like a wayward child

When I know there’s nought out there for me
I really don’t care, as long as I’m free
When the open ocean is calling loud
And when the sails shake, I feel like a cloud.

When I watch the stars slide across the sky
And slowly pale, I wonder why
There is no peace when we all could be
Ghosting along out on the sea.

This is #5 in my series ‘conjunctions’.
Check out the others here:

if
&
but
then

--

--