You Must Do This Exercise For Weight Loss and Long-Term Weight Maintenance

Video Game Vet
Weight Loss Truths
Published in
4 min readApr 27, 2022

--

Stoicism: “The endurance of pain or hardship without displaying feelings and without complaint.”

Yes, there is no magic here. You must make peace with feeling hungry and restricting your eating. That’s not what the diet industry says. I’m far from perfect with this, though I have failed at times. A few months ago, I started a new “DietBet” and was close to not making a goal. I wanted to get below a weight that I had not been at for a long time, and I realized that what I was doing wasn’t working. I had to really cut back to drop that weight.

So what motivated me to even write this?

I listened to Dan Harris’ “Ten Percent Happier” podcast on “A Thing Most Men Won’t Talk About” today, which covered the issue of men’s body image. In this episode, Aaron Flores talked about “Intuitive Eating.” The idea behind “Intuitive Eating” can be summarized as follows:

“Intuitive eating is a simple idea. It means that you make peace with all types of food. Unlike traditional diets that restrict or ban certain foods, intuitive eating requires you to stop looking at food as “good” or “bad.” Instead, you listen to your body and eat what feels right for you.” — WebMD

Sadly that ship sailed for me in 1986 when an insurance exam found out I had high cholesterol levels and other issues. The software company I worked for shipped me off to Pritikin for two weeks. Pritikin put me on a mainly plant-based diet

--

--

Video Game Vet
Weight Loss Truths

Video Game Industry Veteran, Successful Decades-Long Dieter, Cyclist and Polymath.