Meet our Team: Carolyn Snider, Founder of Welltended

Carolyn Snider
Welltended
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2017

Welltended is the houseplant selection & delivery service for city-dwellers. Our main goal is to make it easier for our customers to outfit their homes and offices with gorgeous, green plant decor. While I explained in an earlier post how the idea for Welltended came about, our team thought it it would be fun for us each to introduce ourselves in some more detail.

Here are a few questions that we’ve curated to introduce ourselves in more detail:

When did you launch Welltended?
When I launched Welltended, I was a second-year student at Kellogg School of Management. I spent the last several months of grad school testing the business concept and proving interest in this service. I graduated from Kellogg in June 2017, and am now working full-time on Welltended.

Where are you from?
I grew up in Southern California. In 2010, I moved to Los Angeles to attend college at UCLA, where I studied Geography/Environmental Studies. After that, I worked for five years as an environmental consultant in LA before moving to Chicago for business school.

Why houseplants?
Plant life not only offers a high impact way to decorate your space (cheaper than an expensive piece of art, for instance), but plants offer a ton of benefits when brought indoors. Plants have been shown to improve air quality, lighten your mood, relieve stress, and improve productivity. Once I filled my apartment with my first snake plants, a Pothos, and a few succulents, I immediately realized an improvement in my attitude. The plants perked me up, and moments admiring and tending to them felt like mini-vacations from my hectic day. I felt proud to show friends and family how I had cultivated my own personal haven within my urban apartment.

Favorite houseplant?
Golden Pothos. What I love about Pothos in particular is the gorgeous color and vine-like look of its leaves, and how responsive and resilient they are. Pothos constantly communicating with you, and you can easily tell how it’s doing and whether it needs more water, more light, etc. It’s so straightforward to take care of, and yet it makes a big statement in your home or office.

Check back next week for a post about Dan, Welltended’s resident plant expert.

--

--

Carolyn Snider
Welltended

Founder & CEO of Welltended | Plant selection & delivery service