Consumed by wanderlust

Silvia Li Sam
WRITE LAB
Published in
3 min readFeb 20, 2016

We all want it.

Lookup adventurous and exotic destinations hoping to one day, sit in the pink sand at Komodo Beach in Hawaii or hike the ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru. Those dreams fade away because you start complaining. “I don’t have time. I have to work to earn money. I don’t have a choice. I don’t have free time. I am busy.” Are you overscheduling yourself? Are people asking you favors and you can’t say no?

Less time for recreation, less time for self-reflection, less time for meeting people in the community, less time to just be. Some might blame technology, but I think there’s an increase of lack of self-control.

Quoting “Stop Saying Technology is Causing Social Isolation:”

Technology isn’t bad. You’re just upset with yourselves for having a lack of self-control. You hate that people connect through technology. And maybe, you just don’t like seeing people love themselves, enjoy life, and feel joy. That’s your problem, not technology’s. Consumer technology is good. It enables us to connect in amazing ways as humans. It is not replacing real interaction. It is augmenting it. Embrace it.

I was that type of person; I would put work over anything. This was one of the lowest points of my life where I wrote this. I realize it didn’t have to be this way and that I needed a different relationship with technology and my life.

Fresh coconut for 30 cents.

During the holidays, I went to the Amazon on a trip that I’ll never forget. The freedom I found was surreal. Nature cure me.

Discussing with friends about our dream place to work or live, a cool idea came out. What if we could live/work in a place for a couple weeks/months and move around.

As I went through a list of companies that allow remote work, it was pretty surprising that 50% of employees at Stripe, Trello, and Airbnb are already doing so.

Things have changed quite a bit, but it doesn’t have to be this way. Time is becoming more and more precious. This has made me wonder, what would the world look like if teams were distributed and companies wouldn’t have a HQ like Buffer?

Incredibly enough, the other day I was on Product Hunt and found a service that reminds me of WeWork + Airbnb. For me traveling is super exciting and fun, but it has always been hard to work(being productive), travel, and meet people simultaneously. There is a huge barrier.

What is Outsite?

Outsite is a collection of unique work+play accommodations that cater to the growing community of entrepreneurs, business travelers and digital nomads who are looking for alternatives to uninspired hotels and conference halls.

Whether you want to surf famous waves, ski mountains, climb walls or just bike around town between working sessions, Outsite offers a place to stay with creative co-working spaces and a growing list of innovative “New Networking” activities, designed to spur meaningful and creative collaborations.

http://outsite.co/blog/a-new-type-of-company-retreat-is-rising-in-california/

I’d love to try it out and feel the experience. You should come with me if you are a person consumed by wanderlust.

What are some places you’ve always dreamed to be?

Who is down to come to the next retreat with me?

Be part of my stories.

If you like this, please recommend ❤ and share the love.

The Amazon is Dangerous

Every day is a new beginning

26 Reasons Why You Shouldn’t Visit Peru

--

--

Silvia Li Sam
WRITE LAB

CEO & Founder slammedialab.com 🇵🇪🇨🇳🇺🇸 | Webflow, SEO, Content Marketing