Campaign Hell

Will Preston
2 min readNov 3, 2014

--

How I screwed up my 1st Facebook Ad

So I thought as the clocks were about to change that I should try something new (for me at least). At the time I had heard great success from a friend who was advertising an affiliate campaign, and I thought why not try.
I had just partnered with BullGuard Antivirus, and they had this fantastic 70% offer running up to Halloween. It seemed like a no-brainer; I would get 30% of sales on a product already discounted by 70%. It was cheap; best of all I knew it was a good product.

Luck had it that I just received $5 free credit from Fiverr.com, its a great little marketplace for some incredible marketing stuff. I found this ideal image of a bulldog in from a computer screen and paid them to fix it so the website featured on the screen display, then added my stamp and off I went.

It took me few hours to write about BullGuard’s history and a little about why you should consider it. It was a different take on what I thought not many people would know. I started this on Medium.com, I was new to the service and liked the simplicity.

You can read the article below if you wish. As the Fiverr.com gig came back to me, I was excited and decided to drive traffic by targeting my Facebook followers. I hadn’t been that clever with Facebook, I just used it as an additional messaging tool and didn’t post anything meaningful that often. I even had a page set up for my business with a few followers but hadn’t posted in months.

I decided I should change that and go about crafting a simple post to get people engaged hopefully. Updated my images and styled a simple new look to the page removing all the dead links and old tabs. I then shared these posts on my profile to try to get a few more followers to the page.

Then popped up the dreaded promoted post button and I thought why not try it. I had a potential of 4000 friends of friends who would see the page and thought if I only got a 5% engagement that’s at least 200 people who would read my Medium Post.

https://twitter.com/pcrepairsdublin/status/529105715332276225

Unfortunately after spending some money getting it promoted and the content created the campaign failed, and I received no sales. It was a lesson, but I now know promoted posts do no engage people to click out of Facebook and if they do maybe I should use a sales page rather than a long read blog post to sell. Even if I just collected the email to notify them of the sale, it could have worked out better.

https://twitter.com/pcrepairsdublin/status/529105715332276225
Unlisted

--

--

Will Preston

Actionable advice for personal growth & business success. Exploring tech, business, and life's mysteries on Medium.