Vino: 2015 Casa Santos Lima Colossal Reserva

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget
2 min readJul 18, 2018

Bodega: Casa Santos Lima
Goods: Red Blend
Locale: Lisboa, Portugal
Booze Factor: 14%
Fare: $7.99
Whereabouts: Costco
Yea or Nay:

Scoop: I heard about this wine from my neighbor who said, “If you see it at Costco, buy it! It’s wonderful.” Sure enough on my next trip, there it was waiting for me. At $7.99 I already knew I won’t be disappointed because I know my neighbor has discerning tastes. Also of note: Wine Spectator gave it a 90 rating and was one of the Top 100 Wines of 2017 coming in at #60.

This red blend has some interesting varietals in it, and since my passion was blending wines, I was excited to try this out. For the record, the 2015 Colossal Reserva is:
30% Touriga Nacional
30% Syrah
30% Tinta Roriz
10% Alicante Bouschet
I’ve never heard of the last two varietals but I’m always up for trying new things.

When I poured this wine I could smell the fruit before I was finished pouring. It has great color and lots of berry fruit on the nose. At first taste came my smile, this is a really big wine for 8-bucks! I’d say this is a heavy, medium-bodied wine and well-balanced finish. I’m not ashamed to say I finished the bottle that night! Yum!

I’d put this wine with any spicy meal or red meat. It’s going on my “It’s a keeper” list. If you’re a Costco member, keep an eye out for this wine.

Until next time…

About My Reviews
Full List of Reviews

--

--

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget

I'm Scott, and I used to be a winemaker. This space is about finding great wines that don't cost an arm and a leg.