Vino: 2016 Epicuro Nero d’Avola

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget
2 min readJul 5, 2018

Bodega: Femar
Goods: Nero d’Avola
Locale: Sicily, Italy
Booze Factor: 12.5%
Fare: $4.99
Whereabouts: Trader Joes
Yea or Nay:

Scoop: I tried this wine at a friends house one night and I must say, for the price, it’s a steal. I finally made it back to Trader Joes and bought a bottle of each of Epicuro’s wines they had (Primitivo and Salis Salentino) and based on this first wine. I’m excited to try the others. I had also never heard of Nero d’Avola grapes so it was fun to try something new. Apparently, it is Sicily’s most widely planted grape varietal.

This wine was deep red in color, medium body, and very smooth. It’s full of fruit flavors and has a bit of a spiciness to it, which I really enjoyed. For $5 this is a pretty big wine. I’d serve this up with a nice big steak or some other kind of bold meat.

Until next time…

Read about how I review the wines on this blog.

--

--

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget

I'm Scott, and I used to be a winemaker. This space is about finding great wines that don't cost an arm and a leg.