Product Manager Spotlight: Revamping Wish Fashion and Cross-Collaboration

My name is Nicha Wongsuphasawat and I’m a Product Manager on the Consumer Experience team at Wish. I manage the app’s end-to-end category experience. I spent the first half of this year focusing on the Wish Fashion experience revamp. I have been with Wish for about almost a year now and I am based out of New York City. Fun fact: I’m also a YouTuber!

My Typical Work Day as a Product Manager

I work remotely on the East Coast and most of my team is on the West Coast, so I typically start my day with dedicated time focused on tasks such as planning, reviewing documents, and research. My meetings typically start at noon and continue into the evening. As my projects also involve team members from China, I sometimes attend late meetings to accommodate their working hours. If possible, I try to dedicate only one day per week for late meetings, but I’m always flexible with ad-hoc requests. I like to end my day by replying to all emails and Slack messages, and then to stay organized, I list out pending tasks for the remaining days.

Working Cross-Functionally and Revamping Wish Fashion

Wish definitely has so many great talents! Given my projects involve a huge cross-functional collaboration effort, I get to work with various teams. Each team member is smart and definitely is their own domain expert. Plus, they are accommodating and collaborative. I really appreciate their proactive communication and can-do attitude, which makes our projects move smoothly.

With the fashion project, the scope is huge and this requires a lot of collaboration from so many teams to help customers discover the best of women’s clothing products. I got to work with so many functions and learn about the organization very quickly in a short timeframe.

What are some highlights of the updated Wish Fashion experience?

We now have more detailed product descriptions, clean images, a size guide, as well as filter and sorting functions. In addition, we have a new landing page where users can browse seasonal collections handcrafted by our merchandising team; explore merchant-funded sales/discounted items; or, view an infinite feed of trendy listings. There’s also a new navigation page to allow for browsing by sub-category. Shoppers will also benefit from hassle-free returns* if they would like to swap out select items for a different color or size, when available. Over 2,700 merchants have signed up to the revamped fashion experience.

*Exceptions may apply

My Product Management Career Path

I have always been interested in the eCommerce business. I grew up in my family’s retail business and I’m a big shopper! Wish is one of the key eCommerce players so it has always been on my radar. Plus, I have always worked in large companies and wanted to experience a more tight-knit work environment. Thus, Wish is a perfect fit for me.

Continuing to Learn and Develop Skills as a Product Manager

My personal recipe for success and what drives me to continue to be a better version of myself are:

  • Having a growth mindset: I’ve always had a “glass half full” mentality. There are always areas that I can develop and learn from, both from experience and from teammates. I think this mindset keeps my work experience healthy and also motivates me to learn new things.
  • Showing empathy: My projects require a lot of collaboration and it doesn’t always come easily. It’s helpful to try to understand where your counterpart is coming from and have empathy. People face different things every day both personally and professionally, so you never know if that’s a good day or a bad day for them. It’s important to always have empathy!

Final Thoughts

We’re at a tipping point of making a once-in-a-lifetime impact with a very ambitious and clear goal from our new leadership. We have a lot of unique opportunities that could take us to the next level, including the new category browsing experience for fashion. I’m excited to share that Wish Fashion is now available on Android and iOS globally, and I encourage everyone to try it out on their phones. Plus, I believe this initiative will be a good start to revamping all category shopping experiences at Wish, so I’m thrilled about the impact we all will be creating.

--

--

Nicha Wongsuphasawat
Wish Engineering And Data Science

เล่าประสบการณ์และคำแนะนำเกี่ยวกับการเรียนต่อต่างประเทศ สายอาชีพต่างๆ และการพัฒนาตัวเอง