How to build a routine using habit stacking?

This is my favourite technique from Atomic Habits.

Arjun Narayanan
Word Garden
3 min readMay 29, 2024

--

Atomic Habits by James Clear is one of the first books that I have read fully. The book covers a huge range of techniques to help us start and stick with a habit. The book is widely popular and is known for its easy language which breaks down many complex topics into simpler actionable steps.

Photo by Jose Mizrahi on Unsplash

Out of the various practical techniques given in the book, The one that has stuck with me is Habit stacking. It simply means to stack habits like how we stack a pile of plates one on top of another.

Starting a habit by Stacking a habit

For most of us out there starting with a habit is a tedious task. It was the same for me too.

So to put habit stacking into use, I simply have to align a new habit that I wish to form on top of the existing habit that I habitually perform. A simple one can be making the bed as soon as I wake up to start writing for half an hour.

In this case, the habit that I like to build is to start writing daily for half an hour. Based on my preference I would like to write in the morning. So when I check the habits that I habitually perform, Making my bed daily after I wake up is one.

As per this technique, I stacked my half an hour of writing on top of making my bed.

Why train of tasks work?

So the order of tasks in the morning goes like wake up, Make my bed, Write for half an hour.

Any habit that we wish to include in our day must find a time slot in our calendar. There is a high chance we stick to a habit if it is performed at the most appropriate time of the day.

If we wish to improve vitamin D levels, then brushing our teeth standing under the sun in the morning helps us to stack improving Vitamin D levels(a new habit) on top of brushing our teeth(an existing habit).

To accomplish larger tasks, I use Google Calendar to remember and complete them on time. The tasks that I try to complete during a weekend go into my calendar when one tasks after the other are put as different blocks across the day stacked one on top of another.

Thus there is a train of tasks that gets accomplished as there is a start and the difficult thing is to get started.

Routine + Stacking new tasks = Habits Overtime.

The way I include a gym workout as part of my routine is to leave home as soon as I finish my job in the evening.

The additional perks of having a gym bro make life easier as this part of an activity settles to become a routine.

Over the days this routine looked like — finishing work and heading to the gym.

Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

The difference is there on weekends where I find it a little bit hard to head to the gym as it is an off day at work.

There is a stack missing here.

So this differentiates why closing my laptop and putting on my gym shoes gives me an extra push and motivation to make my way to the gym.

So whenever I see any new habit to put into practice, I see where it can be stacked up. It is like you have to visit 3 shops on your way home and you cover them one by one and reach home.

--

--

Arjun Narayanan
Word Garden

Follow for Stories on Personal Growth, Creative Writing and Book Review.