60 Band Names Worse Than ‘Car Seat Headrest’

Luke Trayser
Words for Life
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2016

This is Will Toledo. He is the frontman of Car Seat Headrest, a rock band out of Virginia.

Their music is good. You can’t help but bob your head to it, and Toledo has an endearingly awful indie rock voice. Here’s their 45 minute set at KEXP. Their new album owns.

As I familiarized myself with the band, I spotted a lot comments pooping on their name. Fine. It’s not great. But you know what? Naming things is hard. To prove it, here are 60 band names that are way, way worse than Car Seat Headrest.

Toledo, Virginia
Will and the Billy Kids
Tire Rotation
Chinchilla Hands
Steve and the Letdowns

Toe Raises
Book Was Better
The Skypescrapers
Chutes and Ladders
Former Latters

How Much Do U Bench
Lorem Ipsum
Do You Even Thrift?
Correct Amount of Cowbell
Dick Bruceinson

Live, Laugh, Love
Library Fine
Gigli
Gym Flirts
The One Uppers

Double Space
Donut Sampler
> Mozart
Cat Soup
The Squirty Curds

Mayonnaise
Two Guys, A Girl And I’m Gluten Free Get That Pizza Out Of My Face
Crying Jordans
Micropooery
Disc Pain

Dad Bod
Facebook
Mark Buffalos
Overly Excited And Incorrect Movie Quote
Parallel Narcing

Dewey Decibel System
Wet Towel
Old Man Sounds
Pus
Sorry, I Can’t. I Have A Baby.

Can You Help Me Move?
The Chunky Gurgles
Nooey Deschanel
Fax Me!
Can’t Even

Boyfriend Pillow
Moist Phlegm Rockets
Screamoji
Command Shift
Gimme Back My Tuba

Bakers 14
Tractor Pull
SDRAWKCABACKWARDS
Dickey Simpkins
More Tuba

srsly
Infinite Yes
SQUIRREL
Sweating In Bed
DJ Tuba

The lesson

Say it with me. If the music is good, so is the name.

Meet the coauthors

Thank you to jdot and Dan for lending me their unique brainpower.

--

--

Luke Trayser
Words for Life

ACD and copy guy at Ivor Andrew. Freelance copywriting mercenary. Not my real hair. Get in touch on Twitter or email ltrayser at gmail.