So You Want To Be An Ad Agency Copywriter

Here’s what to expect. And how to not suck.

Luke Trayser
Words for Life
3 min readJul 30, 2018

--

Back in the fall of 2017, I gave a brief-as-possible lecture to some college students about what agency copywriting looks like as a day-in, day-out gig.

All jokes about this ridiculous profession aside, it really is a blast. I’m grateful that people pay me actual money to be a word dork for them. If you are also a word dork and you’d like to give the agency life a shot, here’s a 30-slide guide.

Naveen is pure class. Here’s his website.
I can’t adequately articulate how much I love Web Comic Name.
Bad ad. MEDICARE IS YOUNG AND SEXY NOW is already a strange angle to take, but the “My ex-husband wants me back” headline is a total head-scratcher. Your guess is as good as mine.
Good ad. Quick, clever, and Moscow Mules are delicious.
Ballsy and remarkable ad. I wrote a thorough analysis of its brilliance, so read that if you haven’t already.
Donuts story. La Croix story.

That’s about it!

If you have additional questions, do not hesitate to reach out. I remember wanting this career and having no clue how to break in, so now I’m all about helping noobs get that foot in the door. Leave a comment below or DM me on Twitter. Best of luck out there. Never stop learning the craft, hit your deadlines, and don’t be a dick. You’ll crush it.

--

--

Luke Trayser
Words for Life

ACD and copy guy at Ivor Andrew. Freelance copywriting mercenary. Not my real hair. Get in touch on Twitter or email ltrayser at gmail.