Travel. Portugal. Western Europe.

From Porto to Lisbon: Acclimatizing to the Heat

My third day in Lisbon, Portugal

Órla K.
World Traveler’s Blog

--

Photo taken by the author on Rus do Benformoso, Lisbon.

I got off to a slow start today on my third day in Lisbon. I often forget that my body needs time to adjust when I make sudden changes like this. I need time to acclimatize.

After 7 months in Porto, Northern Portugal, and quite a temperature difference in the south, I needed to adjust.

It’s 29 degrees Celcius here. Porto average was between 21 and 22 degrees.

More hydration will be needed. Travel requires continual adjustments and flexibility. It’s something I tend to forget.

Free map given at the hostel:

So, this was my plan for the day. Take a tram up to Graca (see the map above) where there is a panoramic view of the city below.

The girl in the hostel suggested this and I highly recommend it too! It was so relaxing and also a good cultural experience.

Take tram No. 28 on Rua dos Benformoso (see on the map above).

The photo was taken by the author, Lisbon.

The tram fare was €3.00. I got off at Graca, had a bite to eat, wandered around, and then walked back down to the city.

I stopped at the supermarket and bought, grapes, cheese, a croissant, bread, orange juice, and coffee for €6.00 (for you budget travelers).

There are two beautiful churches to see up there..

  1. Monastery of Săo Vicente de Fora
  2. National Pantheon
Monastery of Săo Vicente de Fora: Photo taken by the author.
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny

From here you can get a panoramic view of the city and river Tagus below.

Credit: Orla Kenny

Walking on a little further I came across a market (also on the map). They were packing up when I arrived at approximately 4 p.m.

There was a nice atmosphere among the traders.

Then, the treat of the day (if you like good architecture and church history as I do)…

The National Pantheon

Credit: Orla Kenny

Entrance €4.00. It was worth every cent!

Sooooo, beautiful!!! Are you ready….

National Pantheon: The photo was taken by the author
Credit: Orla Kenny
The photo was taken by the author: The church entrance
Monuments erected in honor of significant figures in Portugal: Infante D. Henrique, Pedro Alvares Cabral & Luis De Camoes
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny

First Floor

Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny

2nd Floor — Upper Choir

Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny

The walk back down….

Credit: Orla Kenny
Credit: Orla Kenny

This is the view from the bottom, by the Tagus river.

I hope you enjoyed spending a day with me. I am a slow traveler, so I just do what brings me the most pleasure in one day, and that was enough for me today.

Back to the hostel now!

As I am busy moving around and meeting new people, I decided to just share this one day with you now, but I am working on more detailed blogs of Lisbon, Cascais, Porto, and Braga.

I have so much more to tell you and show you about Lisbon.

It really is one of the most beautiful cities in the world! There are too many beautiful cities in the world, but this one is top class. ❤

For you travelers on a budget, you might want to check out this amazing hostel, The Green Heart Hostel in Lisbon. I was very impressed! See for yourself.

It’s clean, has a good atmosphere, really helpful kind staff, and free coffee and hot chocolate!! What more can you ask for?

Thank you for reading!

Orla Kenny, 2021

If you enjoyed this post on Lisbon, you may also enjoy some of my other short pieces from my time in Portugal…

--

--

Órla K.
World Traveler’s Blog

Learn about mental, emotional, and spiritual heath. Top writer in Travel. Christian Life Coach/Substack: https://orlakenny.substack.com/