Why I Started Learning Spanish And Nearly Ended Up In A Telenovela

How an Argentine telenovela and a Celebrity Crush Sparked a Lifelong Love for the Spanish Language

Aurora {AuraEcho}
Write A Catalyst
6 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Photo by 1983 (steal my _ _ art) on Unsplash

Discovering Violetta: The Show that Started it all

In 2015, when I was 12, and avidly watching TV, more specifically Disney Channel, I first stumbled upon an Argentine telenovela called “Violetta”.

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

For those unfamiliar, it is a vibrant show that chronicles the life of a gifted young girl who returns to her native Buenos Aires after years in Europe.

Amidst the bustling city, she discovers her passion for music, a hidden talent inherited from her late mother,

which leds her to the prestigious Studio On Beat, where dreams and dramas intertwine.

As Violetta navigates the trials of teenage life, she finds herself torn between

- two suitors,

- unraveling secrets of her past,

and ultimately, learning to shine on her own terms in the spotlight of love and music.

At that time, I watched the entire TV series with English dubbing and subtitles - the only option available in Slovenia at that time.

Upon discovering the cast was Spanish- speaking, I sought out the original Spanish version of the show and its songs on YouTube.

I decided to follow the cast on all the social media that I had at the time, which was the old version of Instagram, and Twitter (now called “X”).

An Unexpected Message from Facundo Gambandé

Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

The moment that was the most crucial for the beginning of my Spanish learning journey is quite tedious, and I still find it funny to this day.

It was the moment, when I got a Twitter DM from a “Violetta” actor and my celebrity crush, Facundo Gambandé, that my serious pursuit of acquiring Spanish officially began.

Like any other teenager at some point in their teenage years, (yes, in Slovenia, you are considered a teenager when you are between 11 and 19 years old), I began having typical teenage interests.

For you it might have been Justin Bieber, One Direction or anyone else, while for me, it was Facundo Gambandé.

When he sent me the mentioned DM, which was entirely in Spanish,

I immediately thought to myself:

“I don’t understand a word he is saying but I have to learn Spanish, so we will be able to chat a little, and if we get along, who knows, maybe we can start a romantic relationship!”

– yup, I totally thought that was possible (a perfect definition of what modern day teenagers would call “delulu”).

Not to mention that I was 12, and he was around 25 at that time.

And at the time of receiving his DM, I even thought that I was one of “the chosen ones” from his whole fanbase, and that he specifically chose me because he somehow knew I was his biggest fan (even though I never wrote or said that anywhere).

But looking back I now know that this was an automated generic message, probably for all his new followers.

Even though at the moment, it felt incredibly personal.

Look, a girl can dream, OK!?

Exploring Spanish Culture and Cuisine

Photo by Douglas Lopez on Unsplash

While I didn’t end up with Facundo Gambandé, I fell madly in love with Spanish.

If I never got that message, even though it wasn’t personalized, I wouldn’t have started learning Spanish.

That initial message sparked a passion for the language I continue to nurture.

By the way, as for my love life, I’ve been in a relationship since October 2018 and engaged since October 2023 to my incredible fiancé Jaka Juvan.

So, at the end of the day, it’s a win-win for both Spanish and my love life.

My admiration for Spanish and Spain remains strong, despite never having visited.

I’m enchanted by places like Ibiza, Marbella and Tenerife.

Absolutely stunning!

I always cherished Spanish culture – particularly the cuisine.

My favourite Spanish dish is Paella.

Even though, I must admit, that it wasn’t an authentic one. I bought it in Slovenia, from some Spainards that moved here, and were running a stand with Spanish food, which they later unfortunately closed.

When I recently tried Paella in some other city in Slovenia, I realized that since I became a biohacking enthusiast, and started taking care of my nutrition, my body didn’t react well to it, so I was kinda sad and disappointed.

One of the things that I really loved, is the fact that my psychologist at the time (when I was 12), who knew that I was obsessed with Spain, bought me a snack, while she was on a trip to, I think, Madrid.

I was over the moon, and it was delicious AF.

Such moments have solidified my affection for Spanish and its culture.

I still remember a school presentation by an Argentine student about her country’s colourful streats and mouthwatering steaks, which left me awestruck.

It’s amusing to realize that key influences in my Spanish journey- Violetta’s actress Martina Stoessel (TINI), the student presenter, and my Spanish course teacher – are all Argentine.

How cool is that!?

Expanding Knowledge Through Formal Education

Photo by Marta Baena Simino on Unsplash

My unconditional love for Spanish continued.

Later, in 2017, when I was 14, I started attending live Spanish course classes in my town.

I wholeheartedly loved the fact that I was put into the course for adults, and I enjoyed it very much.

Apart from me, the Spanish course was also attended by a heartwarming lady in her 50s, trying to learn Spanish to be able to communicate with her grandchildren – very cute, if you ask me!

Both her and the teacher were very impressed with my Spanish skills.

Although the Spanish course unfortunately ended as scheduled after a year, I continued learning Spanish on my own, which I still do to this day.

As you might already know, I even incorporated it into my occupation.

Spanish in Secondary School for Tourism

Photo by Alex Ovs on Unsplash

Later, in September 2020, when I started attending Secondary school for Tourism, I was fortunate enough to be able to have Spanish language as my school subject.

Even though, I must admit that the 3 years of having Spanish language as my school subject that followed, weren’t much beyond what I learned in the Spanish course.

At least it was a good revision – As they say, “repetition is the mother of skills!”

The pinnacle of my school experience, I would definitely say was the fact that our class had a chance of having a native-speaking teacher, from Granada, delivering us lessons once a week.

I was especially impressed and proud of my Spanish skills, when my Spanish teacher gave me a matura examination practice sheet for the Spanish subject of the matura.

I aced this practice exam, with only two errors.

I committed these two mistakes just because I didn’t know the meaning of two words but after the teacher offered me a helping hand, I used them correctly.

To this day, Spanish remains my favourite language and a vibrant part of my life and career.

My journey underscores the unexpected ways media and personal interests can lead to lifelong passions and learning paths.

Do you share the affection for the Spanish language or language learning in general?

Share your experience in the comments – can’t wait to discuss this with you!

If you liked my post, I invite you to leave a comment, click (50) claps, and subscribe to get notified when I post!

--

--

Aurora {AuraEcho}
Write A Catalyst

Bilingual Copywriting & Translation Services🇬🇧🇪🇸