The ‘Forgemaster Cycle’ Is a Wonderful Example of Epic Fantasy

Review of ‘The Anvil of Souls’ by Joshua C. Cook

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
4 min readMay 9, 2021

--

Image by Walter Rhein

When you review a lot of independent books, every now and then you find one that you get truly excited about. The Forgemaster Cycle by Joshua C. Cook is a series that I’ve really enjoyed.

I’ve always been a sucker for heroic fantasy. I like to listen to a rousing tale of adventure when I go out on runs or bicycle rides. Too much of my day is spent wrestling with ugly historical facts so I can write social justice articles, and a book I can sink my teeth into is a welcome escape.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the series, Blood of a Fallen God, and I’ve been looking forward to the sequel.

For the most part, The Anvil of Souls delivers though there are a couple narrative choices that I mildly disagree with. Sometimes there’s a gap between expectation and reality, and, as a reader, you can’t appreciate a narrative choice until you’ve given it some time to settle.

Fantasy books tend to strike a balance between wilderness and cities. The cities have the human danger of corrupt officials, criminals, and religious zealots. The wilderness has the dangers of predatory animals and other natural dangers. Most fantasy books follow a group of heroes as they…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com