Confusion

Who are “They” exactly?

--

Photo by Melyna Valle on Unsplash

They say if anything hurts then it's healing
But nobodys here to say when
If we all led our lives just by feeling
How would we know when it ends?

They say some looks can be deceiving
And I suppose that's always been true
Coming closer can feel like you're leaving
And going dark swings the lights back on you

They say let the bird in the bush rest its feathers
It's flying days are all but forgot
But why would you leave sky endeavours
If your only other option is rot?

They say only diamonds and dirt last forever
But one of these things is a curse
Well, I never liked trinkets or tethers
So i guess I’m best left to the earth

Thanks to “Write Under the Moon” for having me as always. Happy Reading.

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.