The Succession

A wise choice?

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon
1 min readJan 20, 2024

--

Photo by Jevgeni Fil on Unsplash

An owl white and weary
Perched proudly in the oak
Surveying all that scampered near
And every twig that broke

The stars that shone on us that night
Knew not the sight they'd see
When the owl swooped and circled
Then headed right for me

He landed lightly up ahead
And shone his lamp light eyes
His voice was deep with wisdom
But his words cut harsh as ice

"I am the owl made for watching
And the world I here protect
But time here is now ending
And it's you that I select"

The world grew large around me
As magic seared within
Red feathers sprouted forwards
And a beak where was my chin

And so the sentinel had spoken
And nature's will had won
The owl there had perished
And the robin's time had come

Does the animal kingdom have leaders? Royalty? Protectors? Are roles inherited or are creatures selected? Something to wonder about. Happy reading.

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.