150 Articles In 90 days Challenge | My Results and Earnings!

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
3 min readNov 22, 2021

3 months ago I set a challenge for myself, the challenge was to write 150 articles in 90 days. 90 days later (today) I can successfully say I have completed the challenge! I have published 158 articles during the 90 days!

But what you're probably wondering is whats my earnings are, and my views/stats, so let's jump into that.

context: I have only been writing on Medium for 3 months

Earnings and Stats

In my first month/20 days in the partner program(I got accepted mid-September) I made a staggering $8.32. The next month October, I quadrupled my earnings and made roughly $32. This month I am on track to make $50! (I will have a earnings reveal when November ends detailing the exact amount so stay tuned for that) I also got 2 referred members and 20 or 21 email list subscribers and a total of 395 followers. I must say, I am quite pleased with my earnings. But that's not all, what about the opportunities that writing so much gave me? (I am averaging about 5 k views a month with about 130 followers a month)

Side effects from writing so much (freelance writing)

Writing 150 articles in 3 months is a lot, that's almost 2 articles a day every day. By writing so much I have become a much better writer, and acquired my first freelance writing client! I won't reveal my earnings from that client, but I will say, I am making a lot more with 1 freelance client than I am altogether on Medium. The reason I continue to write on Medium is that Medium is my personal blog, where I write about what I want to write about, have fun, and write for the love of writing, the money from Medium is just an added bonus that comes with writing. I have a full article on this which I have linked here. Writing so much has also greatly boosted my writing confidence, I feel confident in myself, and know full well I am a dam good writer. That's partly how I got my first client and what's leading me to scale out my freelance writing business! (I wouldn't have started freelancing if I thought I wasn't a good writer.)

Going forward

As my freelance writing business grows and as I work on scaling it, the time I have for writing on Medium has gone down. That's why going forward I plan to write 1 article a day every day instead of two. I feel like I have finally got traction on Medium, which is great, I also don't use any other social media sites like Instagram or Facebook, so Medium is my main social media site, and I am not planning on leaving it anytime soon.

So in short, writing so much made me ok money on Medium, made me 100 times better at writing, (practice makes perfect), and built my writing confidence which allowed me to acquire my first freelance writing client, and start work on scaling my freelance writing business to reach my goal of 15k a month.

Thanks for reading my article, I hope you found it helpful and insightful. Know that if you believe you can, you will!

Be sure to give this article some claps and follow me as doing so helps me grow as a writer which lets me share my work with more people, which in return helps more people!

Cheers!

Like what you are reading? Consider upgrading and becoming a Medium Member so you can view unlimited stories from me and many other writers. Using the link above to buy your membership provides no extra cost to you and supports me as I get a portion of the membership fee.

Photo by Windows on Unsplash

--

--

Aziz Patrawala
Writers’ Blokke

Empowering you to have success, but also happiness and fulfillment