I hadn’t used this app in years, then it sent my Medium stats soaring

Jason Berek-Lewis
Writers Guild
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2018
A screenshot showing the origins of referral traffic to my Medium post. Image credit goes to the screenshot function on my Chromebook.

Ten days ago I wrote a Medium post that went viral; at least, it went viral compared to my usual stats.

What do I mean by “viral compared to my usual stats”?

  • 10X in number of views
  • 1100+ claps
  • 93 fans
  • 17 conversations with fellow writers

The key to going viral (as compared to my usual stats)?

One app/ aggregation service was the key. Which one?

Flipboard.

Yes, Flipboard.

I’m pretty sure it was in a post from Burak Bilgin (but, I could be wrong) that I first came across the idea of adding my posts to Flipboard as a tactic for increasing traffic.

Honestly, I have barely used Flipboard over the last few years. Feedly remains my RSS reader of choice, although I don’t use the app that often (75% of the time I spend reading content online is spent inside Medium). But, Flipboard… I totally 💖 you!

But, not for the stats… No way. I’ve decided to stop writing for stats RIGHT NOW!

A Quantum Of Conversations

The most amazing thing about my post reaching so many people lies in the opportunities to have deep, inspiring conversations with other generous, supportive Medium writers and readers.

Without writing 3 quirky pieces of advice that will make you a happier writer I would never have had conversations with:

Megan Johnson

Kalpesh Mange

Rusty Alderson

Leann Harris

Chris Arlidge

Briana Monique👑

Bill Flynn

Elena Tucker

C. M. Barrett

Michael Shook

Alan Marsden

Jenni Ho-Huan

Michelle Fyfe

Michael Maupin

And more…

Is Flipboard the key to building your Medium audience?

I doubt it is the key. We all know that there is only one key:

Regularly writing/ publishing your best authentic, honest content on Medium.

I kind of froze after writing 3 quirky pieces of advice that will make you a happier writer; I was like the proverbial deer in the headlights. Now, it’s time to find my momentum again because, as a writer who has a lot to learn, I’m just getting started.

You can read more about using Flipboard to boost your Medium views by going here.

If not Flipboard, which other tactics and tools have you used to maximise the reach of your Medium posts?

Let’s help each other out.

Please share some tips below.

Thanks for reading Writers Guild — A Smedian publication

Join our Facebook Group. Write for us. Share your many stories on ManyStories.com

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Jason Berek-Lewis
Writers Guild

Writer/ Reader (Sci-Fi, Healthcare, Politics). Survivor of 3 heart surgeries. Lover of coffee & the stars.