Fantasy Favorites | This or That

Portals to New Worlds

A Fantasy ToT Challenge Response

Jonathon Sawyer
The Fiction Writer’s Den
5 min readApr 21, 2023

--

Part shark, part hippopotamus, all adorable blue anime rendering!
A Hippo-shark-potamus! | Image created by Author using NightCafé AI

So, Jacinta Palmer thought it’d be a hoot to challenge a whole gaggle of fiction writers (isn’t that the term for a group of writers?) to a This or That Challenge, initially spawned by Brett Jenae Tomlin, focused on our love of fantasy worlds.

Given my love of creating worlds, how could I refuse?

So, here I go!

  1. Dystopian or Enchanted: I love enchanted worlds! You can create drama and perils, making it semi-dystopian, but the overarching feeling is still positive. I think that’s the joy of fantasy worlds: they offer a world of joy and wonder.
  2. Vampire or Dragon: First, read or watch the Swedish Let the Right One In (not the American remake!). The novel by John Ajvide Lindqvist opened my eyes to what a vampire horror story should be like, and if you ignore the suggestive child molestation clues in the novel, the story contains a sort of Beauty and the Beast tale to boot. Highly recommend reading or watching.
    That aside, I hands-down love the idea of dragons as individuals, characters, heroes or villains. They are the Batman of the fantasy world — rich and physically powerful, and a drive to do good (or not).
  3. Sword or Bolt of Fire from your Fingers

--

--

Jonathon Sawyer
The Fiction Writer’s Den

I’m a Canadian writer of short stories; a poet of dubious repute. I experiment with interesting concepts and styles, which is why I head TKL's Monday Mash-Ups