DRABBLE

The Ritual

A Drabble a Day

Grim Flandango
The Fiction Writer’s Den
2 min readApr 20, 2024

--

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

This prompt A Drabble a Day is by Me in The Fiction Writer’s Den. The word today is COINCIDE.

They planned the night to coincide with the alignment of the planets. The old texts were specific. This was the night it needed to happen.

Eloise bathed herself in sacred oils. She said the words. She made the sacrifices.

Devon cleansed himself for seven days and nights. He meditated until his mind reached its purest state.

The elders arranged the room meticulously. They covered the walls with ancient symbols long forgotten by man. They lit the candles and burned the sacred herbs.

The couple lay together upon the dais readying themselves.

A pause.

“Um,” Eloise said, “it happens to everyone?”

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this, please scroll to the bottom of the page. Claps and comments are always welcomed. You can check out the rest of my stuff here, where you can also give me a follow if the mood strikes you.

You can also subscribe here to get my newest stories! You know you want to! If you really enjoyed my work, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Grim Flandango
The Fiction Writer’s Den

I write weird stories that may or may not have monsters in them, depending on my mood. I can write 2k words on just about anything- except for a coherent bio.