2016: A Year Of Food, Booze, Feminism and An Almost New York Magazine Piece

Jacy Topps
Years in Review
Published in
6 min readDec 23, 2016

I’ve been a writer for a few years now, but 2016 is the year my career took off. Despite the obvious glitch,(an unqualified, sexual predator and racist being elected President), this year was badass. For me, 2016 was all about feminism, food writing, more feminism, wine, a little bit more feminism, a gay wedding and a new relationship with a New York Magazine editor.

As a contributor for Manhattan With a Twist, I started the year off writing a review for a startup lingerie brand founded by a woman.

Lingerie You’ll Love For Women, By Women

“There’s nothing more I love than shopping for lingerie. Knowing that I’m supporting badass women empowering other accomplished and sexy women, makes my lingerie purchases that more special. Now this is a brand we can get behind!”

I’ve been reading Bust Magazine for years, so why not contribute to the iconic feminist magazine? This was my first national piece and it went semi-viral.

Facebook Feminism

“Dismantling patriarchal ideals and privilege are not solely about being aware that it exists. It’s about extending it to marginalized groups, using your privilege to influence change. Challenging inequality on social media starts the conversation about intersectional feminism. But we can’t negate what a person must do in their everyday lives to create those opportunities.”

2016 was my year for interviews. I interviewed editors, celebrities, icons, and pop culture phenomenons. First, I interviewed the co-founder of Wildfang, masculine of center clothing brand for women.

Feminism And Fashion Collide In These Stunning Images

“Recently, Wildfang launched an exclusive collection for the rebels, feminists and badass rule breakers called “The Wild Collection.” I had the amazing opportunity to chat with co-founder Emma McIlory about feminism, gender identity and fashion icons.”

I was invited to the infamous Moth Ball this year. I danced with Carrie Brownstein, chit chatted with my favorite Broad City duo and had a literary discussion with Salman Rushdie.

The Magic Of The Moth, The Storytelling Experienced Loved By Carrie Brownstein And Hannah Horvath

“Watching what the amazing Moth storytellers do onstage seems so simple, but it is so unbelievably complex. As a writer, sometimes you share your most intimate experiences and opinions. You put yourself out there and are sometimes fearful of critique and criticism. But those fears seem to pale in comparison to performing in front of a live audience without any notes. The stakes are greater, and from what I’m told, the reward is orgasmic.”

The highlight of my year of feminism was getting invited to the Brooklyn Museum’s Sackler Center First Award event to honor Angela Davis. I interviewed and talked with feminist icons Gloria Steinem and Angela Davis

Angela Davis And Black Lives Matter: Why My Feminism Is Intersectional

“Black women were often asked to choose which was more important, the civil rights movement or the black liberation movement. Of course, there was no choice. Women of color don’t get to choose what aspect of who they are should be equal. But one cannot discuss the relationship between feminism and the black liberation movement without mentioning the significance of Angela Davis.”

In June, I took a mini break from feminism to get married to the love of my life and to write about food and booze.

My wife and I on the steps of City Hall after saying I do

How I Turned My Love For Eating Into A Career With PieShell

“So, just how does one become a foodie? It’s easier said than done. I just eat copious amounts of food, take lots of pictures of what I eat, and share them with all of my social media outlets. Okay, maybe it’s not that complicated after all. Yes, I’m that annoying person that won’t let you eat your food until I’ve taken several pictures of it first. Well, I am happy to announce that all of my picture taking, wine drinking, and social media enthusiasm has paid off: I’m the new Content Writer at PieShell!”

Rosé All Day: Why You Should Be Drinking Rosé This Summer

“According to the Wine Institute, Americans drank 913 million gallons of wine in 2015! While that number might be surprising to some, it doesn’t surprise me. I can’t speak for the rest of the PieShell team, but I consumed at least one million by myself last year! Rosé exported from Provence has increased by double digits for the 12th straight year. That tells us that not only are Americans drinking wine, but they’re also branching out and trying other varietals besides Chardonnay and Pinot Grigio.”

Confessions Of A Former Wine Snob

“I thought I became a “wine expert” by bartending for a trendy, international hotel that shall remain nameless. I was paid to attend tastings, given incentives to up-sell and got crash courses in pairing. I was groomed to become a wine snob and the money I made working for the hotel allowed me to fund my snobbery.”

Then there was the Huffington Post opportunity. With a little inspiration from Taylor, Kanye, Kim and my on-again off-again, 20 year-old former friendship, I had material for my next piece.

Calling Out Bulls**t: Get Over Your Fear Of Confrontation

“Why is confrontation such an ugly word ― especially for women? If it was seen as an act of facing something or someone that needs to be addressed head on — directly and proactively, confrontation wouldn’t get such a bad rep. Think about it. How many times did something get completely get blown out of proportion because of a lack of communication or miscommunication? And how many past aggressions has this society let go unquestioned because of a fear to confront?”

Seeing that I mastered the art of the interview — okay mastered is a strong word, my friend and editor of Posture Magazine wanted me to interview a rising queer activist on her decision to attend Afropunk topless.

Afropunk Black Girl Magic: The Face of Breast Cancer Awareness

“Ericka Hart is not only a breast cancer survivor, she is a breast cancer warrior. The decision to share her scars and her story are a true testament of her #BlackGirlMagic. We caught up with Ericka to discuss her decision to attend Afropunk topless and the importance of visibility, sexuality, and self care.”

It didn’t take long before I wanted to write about feminism again. After Dior showed at Paris Fashion Week this year, it seemed that feminism was fashionable again. I decided to pitch the top-tier publication, New York Magazine on why feminism in mainstream fashion is problematic. My angle — Feminism strives to end the discrimination, exploitation, and oppression of people due to their gender, sexual orientation, race and class. With the lack of representation of body types, race and ethnicity, on the runway and the sometimes exorbitant price tags, we have yet to see true feminism in mainstream fashion.

I found the culture editor of New York Magazine, The Cut on Twitter and asked her what email address should I send pitches to. Yes, it was that simple. She loved my pitch and would accept it, BUT felt it needed to be a long-form reported piece and they weren’t looking for reported pieces right now. She told me that she loves my writing and will be looking for more pitches from me in the future!!! Needless to say, I will be stalking New York Magazine (via pitches) next year.

The last piece I had published this year was my reaction to the election. Like most, I was sure Hilary Clinton was going to be this country’s first female President. Devastation doesn’t begin to describe the feeling I had when I woke up that Wednesday morning. It took a few days to get my thoughts together, but I did. My essay went viral.

Stop Telling People It Will Be Okay Because For Many, It Won’t Be

“This country decided that people of color really are second class citizens. This country decided that anyone other than Christians is not welcome here. This country decided gays, lesbians, and trans individuals and the families that they’ve created don’t matter. This country decided that women shouldn’t have agency over their own bodies and healthcare and on election night, this country decided that women who are sexual assaulted and raped don’t deserve a voice. These are some of the people that will not be okay, so stop telling them that their anger is over-dramatic, their fear is ridiculous and that their protests are not American.”

There you have it, my Year in Review! Next year will be the year of resistance — I’m looking at you Donald — writing! It will be the year of embracing the internet trolls I acquired after my election essay went viral. (Oh and the haters and naysayers.) Gay sex, love, marriage, wine, money, feminism (Clearly, I’m a professional feminist now), and travel are just a few things I’m looking forward to writing about next year. Bring it on 2017!

Jacy Topps is a freelance writer focusing on feminism, music and wine. She likes her Pinot Noir with bacon and Brie. Follow her on Twitter at @jacytopps

--

--

Jacy Topps
Years in Review

Freelance journalist & essayist: Words at Glamour, InStyle, Oprah Mag, Slate, VICE, BUST, Bitch Media, & HuffPo