FICTION | DYSTOPIAN

The Blue Drink Initiation

Will she risk the unknown for immortality?

Isla Orange
Youness-ness

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Tobias picked up a thick-bottomed glass and held it out to me.
The glass full to the brim with a deep blue liquid. Confused, but not wanting to risk offending him, I take it.

Lifting the tall glass to my lips I sip slowly. It’s like nothing I’ve ever tasted, bold and, tangy I let it sink into my palette.

Tobias smiled at my hesitation and, then began explaining the process…

“Now, in roughly 6 and a half minutes you will start to feel a strong tingling sensation in your arms, then your muscles will start to dance within. You will be one of us in a matter of hours”

“I will have the strength and immortality of the others in the clan?” I question

“Yes, and perhaps stronger than us all, in time, as your youth is an essence we did not have when evolving” Tobias warned.

A simple blue drink can do all this? I thought.

A faint scent came with the wind as I drifted into a deep sleep right on the spot…

Would you like more on this story? Let me know x

Please give Kristina’s story a read next — “Chasing Rainbows”

Also, Uwem’s story “Illicit Appeal

🌙 Hi… I’m Isla. I’m new here… I like fighting for civil rights, moon gazing and, living the life of my choosing 🌙

Stop by and say hi! I’d love to chat →

--

--

Isla Orange
Youness-ness

Fiction Writer 🌙 Manifester 🌙 | Swimmer | Gamer | Occasional Poet and Courage collector ;)