Free UX help for Ukraine donations

Donate $60 for 60 minutes with an ex-Facebook designer

Bryant Peng
your ux friend
3 min readMar 12, 2022

--

If you’ve ever sent this text, you’re in the right place

Need a UX designer friend to look at your app, website, or landing page?

Donate $60 towards aid for Ukraine and I’ll be that friend for 60 minutes.

I’ll spend 30 minutes analyzing the biggest pain points in your product. Things like why people aren’t signing up, or coming back, or just how your product makes life harder than it has to be.

Then, we’ll hop on a 30 minute call to walk through them. I’ll suggest a few simple solutions to get the most impact for the least engineering effort.

Afterwards, I’ll email you a summary of what we discussed and include some design examples you can reference when building your solutions.

Here’s a taste:

Let’s talk: bryant@bryantpeng.com

Tell me about your product! What’s the vision? How does the business model work? Any specific goals or problems you’re tackling right now? The more you can tell me, the better my feedback will be.

I have an iPhone, so if it’s an app I can only evaluate the iOS version.

Who am I?

I’m a weird designer.

Design was my passion growing up, but I became a software engineer because it was more practical. Tech didn’t care about design yet.

Then it did, so I worked my ass off and became a product designer. I got to do some great work at Evernote, Everlaw (a16z-backed), and Facebook. I actually got the call from Facebook because of a viral Medium article I wrote:

I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really…frustrated that I couldn’t be more involved in product strategy, so I left to work at a few startups as their first product manager.

If you’d like to learn more, here’s my resume and portfolio.

My approach

Designers tend to fixate on the wrong things. Take this graph:

We like to work on big, sexy features that look good in a portfolio (Big Bets), or design system-type stuff that only designers really care about (Incremental).

How do I know this? Because I was that designer when I started out. And as a software engineer and product manager, I’ve worked with those designers — even some that had “Senior” in their job title.

I’m not saying those things aren’t important. But when you have a limited design budget, every pixel needs to be optimized towards your product and business goals. It’s a completely different mindset from how design works at the tech giants, and one I understand intimately from my time at startups.

If you’re looking for something exciting and flashy, you’re in the wrong place. But if you want the boring, unsexy work that’ll make a big difference, hit me up.

Let’s talk: bryant@bryantpeng.com

Tell me about your product! What’s the vision? How does the business model work? Any specific goals or problems you’re tackling right now? The more you can give me, the better my feedback will be.

Design tips from real productsInstagram: @youruxfriendTwitter: @youruxfriend

--

--